Dear Me: Advice to my younger self?

Dear me.

I’m writing this letter to you as a much older version of you.  I look at young teenagers around me, and I get annoyed at their behavior.  But when I think of it, I was there.  I was young and irresponsible, and so naive.

The first thing I would like to say to you is that you are an awesome person.  I know it took you a very long time to learn to love yourself.  And that’s okay, because today you are a stronger person because of it.  Just remember you have to get hurt.  That’s how you learn.

So what other advice would I be able to give you?  You need to stop apologizing so much.  Don’t be sorry, be strong and shine.  You can do anything you put your mind to.   Just remember to work hard and stay humble.  And listen to your mom from time to time.  You don’t want to hear this right now, but she is right most of the time.  And she loves you, and she worries about you.  Go give her a big hug, she needs it.

Collage.jpg

Photos of me in my younger days

Also sleep more and drink more water, it’s good for you.  Drinking alcohol, smoking cigarettes or pulling all nighters  might be great fun now but it will eventually catch up to you. Take care of yourself while you are young and spare yourself the tears later in life.

And you know that boyfriend of yours.  The one who always wants you to wear makeup and heels.  Well he is definitely not the one!  Please make smarter choices when it comes to dating. Date someone who DESERVES you, not someone you think you deserve.  Your future husband will love you even when you are not wearing heels and a lot of make up.

Lastly remember to have fun.  Because you don’t get to stay young and naive for ever.

Love

A much older and wiser Me.

j69kar523o8tsjxbc6ve

Leave a Reply

